2017-2018 Season Practice Schedule

Target for availability of ice at Miken Rodden Arena is October 10th, 2017. But we all know that the weather will impact this schedule, keep posted for updates!

Weekly team practices will start that week. Following are the scheduled times for practices for the 2017-2018 season.

Tykes / Squirts – Monday 5:30-6:30 pm, Friday 5:30-6:30 pm
Novice – Wednesday 5:30-6:30 pm, Friday 6:30-7:30 pm
Atoms – Monday 6:30-7:30 pm, Wednesday 6:30-7:30 pm
Peewee – Tuesday 6:10-7:10 pm, Thursday 6:40-7:40 pm
Bantam – Monday 7:40-8:40 pm, Wednesday 7:40-8:40 pm
Midget – Tuesday 7:20-8:20 pm, Wednesday 8:50-9:50 pm

2016-2017 hall of fame …

Congratulations to all Rockets for an outstanding season !!!

Although the Rockets play the game, a round of applause has to be given to the dedicated MMHA executive, coaching staff, and parents that support and guide the teams. This is a huge cooperative effort! Great season!

Trophies for this season were awarded at the annual awards ceremony held on April 22nd at Mike Rodden Arena. Refreshments were enjoyed by all!

The Bobby Bass memorial trophy is awarded to the player who shows a passion for the game, both on and off the ice.

The Chick Webster trophy is awarded to a midget player in their final year who has had a exemplary Rockets career, shows leadership, sportsmanship, and sets a great example for all of the younger players following in their footsteps.

Congratulations to the winners!


Most Sportsmanlike Player — Chase Rodgers
Most Improved Player — Colton Sarrazin
Most Defensive Player — Rain Meilleur
Most Offensive Player — Lauren Janveaux
Most Valuable Player — Reid Backer
Bobby Bass Memorial Trophy — Sylar Anderson


Most Sportsmanlike Player — Madison Rodgers
Most Improved Player — Leah Chenier
Most Defensive Player — Aedon Leadston
Most Offensive Player — Joshua Neddo
Most Valuable Player — Noah Backer
Bobby Bass Memorial Trophy — Blake Belanger


Most Sportsmanlike Player — Kurt Guignion
Most Improved Player — Henry Wunsch
Most Defensive Player — Cole Neault
Most Offensive Player — Noah Webster
Most Valuable Player — Denver Landriault
Bobby Bass Memorial Trophy — Casey Jones


Most Sportsmanlike Player — Alex Roberts
Most Improved Player — John von Hassel
Most Defensive Player — William Thompson
Most Offensive Player — Eoghan Drumm
Most Valuable Player — Hunter Schembri
Bobby Bass Memorial Trophy — Matthew Marsh


Most Sportsmanlike Player — Samantha Lamirante
Most Improved Player — Josée Mercier
Most Defensive Player — Carson Perreault
Most Offensive Player — Nick Backer
Most Valuable Player — Alexandre Janveaux
Bobby Bass Memorial Trophy– Faidge Janveaux


Most Sportsmanlike Player — Liam Magill
Most Improved Player — Hunter Belanger
Most Defensive Player — Tylor Lavoie
Most Offensive Player — Kyle Backer
Most Valuable Player — Nolen Landriault
Bobby Bass Memorial Trophy — Brett Salesio
Chick Webster Trophy — Jackson Reid

Atoms take gold in the 2016-2017 Super Sunday weekend !

After a wonderful NDHL playoff weekend the Atoms moved on to play in the Super Sunday weekend. They played in both North Bay and Trout Creek.

Their first game was played at Pete Palangio arena in North Bay at 11:45 am against the Temiscaming Shores Puckhounds. The team was anxious, played well, but the Puckhounds managed to sneak in 5 goals leaving us with a loss of 5-2 in the third.

The Rockets then moved on to their 2nd game of the day, playing in Trout Creek at 3:00 pm against the North Bay Trappers. The team was on a roll winning 9-0.

Come Sunday morning they played in Trout Creek again at 9:00 am against the Verner Bulls. They were on a winning streak, taking the lead which ended in an 8-3 win. They made it to the finals !!!

At 5:00 pm in North Bay they met up with the Temiskaming Puckhounds once again. Knowing how well they were playing there was no doubt that they could be champs. Working very hard through all 3 periods, keeping the puck out of their end and pushing through, the Rockets took the gold and the banner, winning 3-2.

Amazing team effort played by all !!! We are all so proud !!!

Well done Rockets !!!

Bantam team wins silver in 2016-2017 NDHL playoffs !

Way to go ROCKETS !!!

Atoms team wins gold in 2016-2017 NDHL playoffs !

The Mattawa Rockets hosted the Atom playoff at the end of February at Mike Rodden Arena.

The Atoms had a very unfortunate beginning to their playoff weekend… There was a region wide power outage, which lead to game cancellations on Friday, February 24th and Saturday, February 25th.

The team was then placed directly into the semi finals at 11:15 am on Sunday morning against the Astorville Vipers and took the lead with 8-1.

The team then advanced into the finals at 5:15 pm. Prior to the game there was a brief celebration and announcement on having Mr. Chick Webster who played in the NHL for the New York Rangers in the building. There were four (4) generations at the game, with Noah Webster, his great-grandson playing for the Atoms rockets. The final game was played against the Temiscaming Royals; it was a nail bitter throughout… The game ended with a 2-1 score, which means the Atom rockets did it again! We took the gold.

Way to go ROCKETS !!!

The coaching staff couldn’t be any more proud. The team will now move on to Super Sunday next weekend March 4-5th. We wish the Atoms the best of luck in their upcoming games.

Hope that you will come out and support the Rockets!